ACC Cleans Up, But Georgia Tech Shut Out at College Football Awards


The Home Depot College Football Awards ceremony was held in Lake Buena Vista, Fl. tonight, and the ACC walked away with the bulk of the major awards. For a conference that’s fighting for respect, a night like this went a long way to making it happen.

Of the two dozen major awards that are presented to players and coaches, the ACC bogarted the night, taking home nine different awards, with Florida State QB Jameis Winston and Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald winning two and four each of the big awards respectively.

Georgia Tech, unfortunately, wasn’t even in the running for any of the awards being presented, and had no players elected to the Walter Camp All-American squad, one of five teams used to select the NCAA consensus All-Americans.

The biggest of the yearly awards, the Heisman Memorial Trophy, will be given out on Saturday, Dec. 14 at 8:00 pm. on ESPN. The finalists for this year’s Heisman trophy are QB Jordan Lynch (NIU), QB Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), RB Tre Mason (Auburn), QB AJ McCarron (Alabama), RB Andre Williams (Boston College) and QB Jameis Winston (Florida State).

Here is a list of this year’s (to date) College Football Award Winners:

Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year) – Jameis Winston, Florida State

Davey O’Brien Award (Most Outstanding Quarterback) – Jameis Winston, Florida State

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Most Outstanding Senior QB) – AJ McCarron, Alabama

Maxwell Award (Most Outstanding Player) – AJ McCarron, Alabama

Doak Walker Award (Most Outstanding Running Back) – Andre Williams, Boston College

Fred Biletnikoff Award (Most Outstanding Wide Receiver) – Brandin Cooks, Oregon State

John Mackey Award (Most Outstanding Tight End) – Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington

Home Depot Coach of the Year – Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award (Outstanding Lineman) – Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year)Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Outland Trophy (Most Outstanding Interior Lineman) – Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Bronko Nagurski Award (Most Outstanding Defensive Player) – Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Ted Hendricks Award (Defensive End of the Year) – Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

Rimington Trophy (Most Outstanding Center) – Bryan Stork, Florida State

Jim Thorpe Award (Top Defensive Back)Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State

Lou Groza Award (Top Place-Kicker) – Roberto Aguayo, Florida State

Ray Guy Award (Top Punter) – Tom Hornsey, Memphis

Campbell Trophy (Top Scholar-Athlete) – John Urschel, Penn State

Frank Broyles Award (Top Assistant Coach) – Pat Narduzzi, Michigan State

Lott IMPACT Trophy (Outstanding Defensive Player) – Anthony Barr, UCLA

Disney Spirit Award (Most Inspirational Player or Team) – Devon Walker, Tulane

For more on all the happenings in Georgia Tech Athletics, be sure to follow YellowJackedUp on Facebook, Twitter, and use our Android/iOS app to get updates directly from Fansided.

Next Yellow Jackets Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov3:30Virginia CavaliersBuy Tickets

Tags: College Football Awards Football Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets

comments powered by Disqus